MarKhan gives his weeb opinion on videogames #Fuc- no wait, thats wrong

MarKhan | Heroic Unstoppable!
 
more |
XBL:
PSN:
Steam: MarKhan54
ID: MarKhan
IP: Logged

1,960 posts
 
Well, I was planning to write reviews on certain games since start of February, but couldn`t get it done for various reasons. Games, which I planning to cover, mostly are indies, they all have some interesting (from my perspective) gimmick in them.

Reasons behind existence of this thread are next:
1) Leaving notes - as a human being with some sense of logic, I don`t want to keep my thoughts and analysis all in my head, since my memory isn`t perfect, so I write it down here. Also my reviews aren`t gonna be perfect and I might miss something, so critisizm is welcomed.
2) Contribution - as member of this community, I don`t remember writing quality threads. Gonna try to fix this with this thread.
3) Development of communication skills (A.K.A Attention seeking exersice) - writing reviews gonna tune my skills of writing something for audience, which quantity is more than 1, also hones my English pretty well I guess.
4) Bringing attention to games itself - some games are popular, some aren`t. Probably you never heard of 85% of games that I'm gonna cover. Gonna fix that too.

I'll try to update this thread once a week. Right now I'll leave it as a placeholder and as reminder, pressuring me to get something done.

Ok, I hope you will enjoy that, or at least not get annoyed when this will pop up on last 5 updated topics.

(This section will be edited as time goes)

Games I'm planning to cover:

Ib
Yume Nikki
Eversion
Toilet in Wonderland
Murasaki & Murasaki Sword
_ICEY._
Va-11 Hall-A

Covered:
Doki Doki Literature Club (PC, Steam, free to play)
Irisu Syndrome (PC, free to play)
Last Edit: May 09, 2018, 07:10:16 PM by MarKhan


Captain Deci | Mythic Unfrigginbelievable!
 
more |
XBL:
PSN:
Steam:
ID: Decimator Omega
IP: Logged

22,049 posts
 
Throw Halo in there.

Not the remastered anniversary shit. Regular unedited Halo CE.

If you can't afford an OG Xbox, then Halo PC is acceptable.


 
 
Flee
| Marty Forum Ninja
 
more |
XBL:
PSN:
Steam:
ID: Flee
IP: Logged

15,477 posts
 
You should add Quake Champions to the list. You know it well enough at this point. :)


 
challengerX
| custom title
 
more |
XBL:
PSN:
Steam:
ID: challengerX
IP: Logged

41,691 posts
I DONT GIVE A SINGLE -blam!- MOTHER -blam!-ER ITS A MOTHER -blam!-ING FORUM, OH WOW, YOU HAVE THE WORD NINJA BELOW YOUR NAME, HOW MOTHER -blam!-ING COOL, NOT, YOUR ARE NOTHING TO ME BUT A BRAINWASHED PIECE OF SHIT BLOGGER, PEOPLE ONLY LIKE YOU BECAUSE YOU HAVE NINJA BELOW YOUR NAME, SO PLEASE PUNCH YOURAELF IN THE FACE AND STAB YOUR EYE BECAUSE YOU ARE NOTHING BUT A PIECE OF SHIT OF SOCIETY
Throw Halo in there.

Not the remastered anniversary shit. Regular unedited Halo CE.

If you can't afford an OG Xbox, then Halo PC is acceptable.
who the hell wouldn't be able to afford a 15 year old console


alphy | Legendary Invincible!
 
more |
XBL: An Alphy
PSN:
Steam:
ID: Alphy
IP: Logged

3,954 posts
 
Throw Halo in there.

Not the remastered anniversary shit. Regular unedited Halo CE.

If you can't afford an OG Xbox, then Halo PC is acceptable.
who the hell wouldn't be able to afford a 15 year old console

me cuz im poor


alphy | Legendary Invincible!
 
more |
XBL: An Alphy
PSN:
Steam:
ID: Alphy
IP: Logged

3,954 posts
 
natsuki best girl


 
challengerX
| custom title
 
more |
XBL:
PSN:
Steam:
ID: challengerX
IP: Logged

41,691 posts
I DONT GIVE A SINGLE -blam!- MOTHER -blam!-ER ITS A MOTHER -blam!-ING FORUM, OH WOW, YOU HAVE THE WORD NINJA BELOW YOUR NAME, HOW MOTHER -blam!-ING COOL, NOT, YOUR ARE NOTHING TO ME BUT A BRAINWASHED PIECE OF SHIT BLOGGER, PEOPLE ONLY LIKE YOU BECAUSE YOU HAVE NINJA BELOW YOUR NAME, SO PLEASE PUNCH YOURAELF IN THE FACE AND STAB YOUR EYE BECAUSE YOU ARE NOTHING BUT A PIECE OF SHIT OF SOCIETY
Throw Halo in there.

Not the remastered anniversary shit. Regular unedited Halo CE.

If you can't afford an OG Xbox, then Halo PC is acceptable.
who the hell wouldn't be able to afford a 15 year old console

me cuz im poor
if you can afford internet I'm sure you could spare $30 for an Xbox


Captain Deci | Mythic Unfrigginbelievable!
 
more |
XBL:
PSN:
Steam:
ID: Decimator Omega
IP: Logged

22,049 posts
 
Throw Halo in there.

Not the remastered anniversary shit. Regular unedited Halo CE.

If you can't afford an OG Xbox, then Halo PC is acceptable.
who the hell wouldn't be able to afford a 15 year old console

People below the poverty line. Ukraine is rather fucked right now.


Dietrich Six | Mythic Inconceivable!
 
more |
XBL:
PSN:
Steam:
ID: DietrichSix
IP: Logged

11,506 posts
Excuse me, I'm full of dog poison
Throw Halo in there.

Not the remastered anniversary shit. Regular unedited Halo CE.

If you can't afford an OG Xbox, then Halo PC is acceptable.

How would he review the online multiplayer?


Captain Deci | Mythic Unfrigginbelievable!
 
more |
XBL:
PSN:
Steam:
ID: Decimator Omega
IP: Logged

22,049 posts
 
Throw Halo in there.

Not the remastered anniversary shit. Regular unedited Halo CE.

If you can't afford an OG Xbox, then Halo PC is acceptable.

How would he review the online multiplayer?

Well, he has an internet connection, so just fine if he gets the PC version. You don't need XBL for Halo PC.


Chaos Metal Dragon | Mythic Inconceivable!
 
more |
XBL: ChaosMetalDrago
PSN: Warden_Eternal
Steam: LoverOfJesusMKII
ID: ChaosMetalDragon
IP: Logged

10,562 posts
 
natsuki best girl

1) That's not how Saiyori is spelled
2) That's still the wrong answer anyway seeing as she is not Tharja Tohsaka Rin or Ranka Lee


Chaos Metal Dragon | Mythic Inconceivable!
 
more |
XBL: ChaosMetalDrago
PSN: Warden_Eternal
Steam: LoverOfJesusMKII
ID: ChaosMetalDragon
IP: Logged

10,562 posts
 
Throw Halo in there.

Not the remastered anniversary shit. Regular unedited Halo CE.

If you can't afford an OG Xbox, then Halo PC is acceptable.

>Halo Games that are not ODST or a multiple of 2


Captain Deci | Mythic Unfrigginbelievable!
 
more |
XBL:
PSN:
Steam:
ID: Decimator Omega
IP: Logged

22,049 posts
 
Throw Halo in there.

Not the remastered anniversary shit. Regular unedited Halo CE.

If you can't afford an OG Xbox, then Halo PC is acceptable.

>Halo Games that are not ODST or a multiple of 2

Stop


Chaos Metal Dragon | Mythic Inconceivable!
 
more |
XBL: ChaosMetalDrago
PSN: Warden_Eternal
Steam: LoverOfJesusMKII
ID: ChaosMetalDragon
IP: Logged

10,562 posts
 
Throw Halo in there.

Not the remastered anniversary shit. Regular unedited Halo CE.

If you can't afford an OG Xbox, then Halo PC is acceptable.

>Halo Games that are not ODST or a multiple of 2

Stop

I'm right r/HaloCirclejerk is wrong
No exeptions

Halo 2 is a Masterpiece
ODST is gread
4 is good
Reach is a mixed bag
Combat Evolved has not aged well but is still a clasic
3 and 5 are trash
Last Edit: March 11, 2018, 10:53:43 PM by Chaos Metal Dragon


 
challengerX
| custom title
 
more |
XBL:
PSN:
Steam:
ID: challengerX
IP: Logged

41,691 posts
I DONT GIVE A SINGLE -blam!- MOTHER -blam!-ER ITS A MOTHER -blam!-ING FORUM, OH WOW, YOU HAVE THE WORD NINJA BELOW YOUR NAME, HOW MOTHER -blam!-ING COOL, NOT, YOUR ARE NOTHING TO ME BUT A BRAINWASHED PIECE OF SHIT BLOGGER, PEOPLE ONLY LIKE YOU BECAUSE YOU HAVE NINJA BELOW YOUR NAME, SO PLEASE PUNCH YOURAELF IN THE FACE AND STAB YOUR EYE BECAUSE YOU ARE NOTHING BUT A PIECE OF SHIT OF SOCIETY
Throw Halo in there.

Not the remastered anniversary shit. Regular unedited Halo CE.

If you can't afford an OG Xbox, then Halo PC is acceptable.

>Halo Games that are not ODST or a multiple of 2

Stop

I'm right r/HaloCirclejerk is wrong
No exeptions

Halo 2 is a Masterpiece
ODST is gread
4 is good
Reach is a mixed bag
Combat Evolved has not aged well but is still a clasic
3 and 5 are trash
If I ever find you in real life I will fucking break every bone in your body, you stupid son of a bitch weaboo motherfucker.


Chaos Metal Dragon | Mythic Inconceivable!
 
more |
XBL: ChaosMetalDrago
PSN: Warden_Eternal
Steam: LoverOfJesusMKII
ID: ChaosMetalDragon
IP: Logged

10,562 posts
 
Throw Halo in there.

Not the remastered anniversary shit. Regular unedited Halo CE.

If you can't afford an OG Xbox, then Halo PC is acceptable.

>Halo Games that are not ODST or a multiple of 2

Stop

I'm right r/HaloCirclejerk is wrong
No exeptions

Halo 2 is a Masterpiece
ODST is gread
4 is good
Reach is a mixed bag
Combat Evolved has not aged well but is still a clasic
3 and 5 are trash
If I ever find you in real life I will fucking break every bone in your body, you stupid son of a bitch weaboo motherfucker.

Do it faggot


Captain Deci | Mythic Unfrigginbelievable!
 
more |
XBL:
PSN:
Steam:
ID: Decimator Omega
IP: Logged

22,049 posts
 
Throw Halo in there.

Not the remastered anniversary shit. Regular unedited Halo CE.

If you can't afford an OG Xbox, then Halo PC is acceptable.

>Halo Games that are not ODST or a multiple of 2

Stop

I'm right r/HaloCirclejerk is wrong
No exeptions

Halo 2 is a Masterpiece
ODST is gread
4 is good
Reach is a mixed bag
Combat Evolved has not aged well but is still a clasic
3 and 5 are trash

I agree that 5 is trash but Halo 3?!?

I'd like to see you create a better sequel to Halo 2.


Captain Deci | Mythic Unfrigginbelievable!
 
more |
XBL:
PSN:
Steam:
ID: Decimator Omega
IP: Logged

22,049 posts
 
Throw Halo in there.

Not the remastered anniversary shit. Regular unedited Halo CE.

If you can't afford an OG Xbox, then Halo PC is acceptable.

>Halo Games that are not ODST or a multiple of 2

Stop

I'm right r/HaloCirclejerk is wrong
No exeptions

Halo 2 is a Masterpiece
ODST is gread
4 is good
Reach is a mixed bag
Combat Evolved has not aged well but is still a clasic
3 and 5 are trash
If I ever find you in real life I will fucking break every bone in your body, you stupid son of a bitch weaboo motherfucker.

Do it faggot



Onion | Elite Four Invincible!
 
more |
XBL:
PSN:
Steam:
ID: Orion
IP: Logged

3,660 posts
 
oh cool another halo thread


 
Jono
| Eddie Lives
 
more |
XBL: HundredJono
PSN: HundredJono
Steam: hundredjono55
ID: Jono
IP: Logged

17,033 posts
Goodness gracious, great balls of lightning!
Please cover Earth Defense Force 4.1: The Shadow of New Despair


Fedorekd | Mythic Inconceivable!
 
more |
XBL: Fedorekd
PSN:
Steam: Fedorekd
ID: Fedorekd
IP: Logged

8,485 posts
I love you, son.
Throw Halo in there.

Not the remastered anniversary shit. Regular unedited Halo CE.

If you can't afford an OG Xbox, then Halo PC is acceptable.

>Halo Games that are not ODST or a multiple of 2

Stop

I'm right r/HaloCirclejerk is wrong
No exeptions

Halo 2 is a Masterpiece
ODST is gread
4 is good
Reach is a mixed bag
Combat Evolved has not aged well but is still a clasic
3 and 5 are trash
Having played a lot of MCC lately I can say all but half of one of these points are true.


Chaos Metal Dragon | Mythic Inconceivable!
 
more |
XBL: ChaosMetalDrago
PSN: Warden_Eternal
Steam: LoverOfJesusMKII
ID: ChaosMetalDragon
IP: Logged

10,562 posts
 
Anyway review the Pokemon Mystery Dungeon games


Ásgeirr | Mythic Inconceivable!
 
more |
XBL: ossku
PSN:
Steam: ossku/Oss
ID: Ossku
IP: Logged

13,206 posts
The angel agreed to trade a set of white wings for the head of another demon. Overjoyed, the demon killed one of his own and plucked the head right off its still-warm body.

The angel then led the demon to heaven, where he underwent centuries of the cruelest tortures imaginable. Finally, the pain was so great that he lost consciousness - at which point his dark wings turned the promised shade of white.
ay marky mark, recommend me a 2hu game, Automata got me craving for shmups


MarKhan | Heroic Unstoppable!
 
more |
XBL:
PSN:
Steam: MarKhan54
ID: MarKhan
IP: Logged

1,960 posts
 
ay marky mark, recommend me a 2hu game, Automata got me craving for shmups
I've played Touhous from 1 up to 9, and my personal favorite is 6, I've heard that 10 is easier to new players, and I think 8 is preatty easy too. You can ask True, he knows more about Touhou than me.
     
There is Jigoku Kisetsukan, it`s free, on Steam, it has slow difficulty curve grow and it is decent, it`s also good for newcomers.
     
There is Len`en, from what I've heard it`s slightly harder than Touhou, but I don`t know, I haven`t played it yet.
     
2 days ago I bought myself Murasaki from Steam, cause it`s from same developer that made Irisu Syndrome, Tetsu (or wTetsu), and it`s a great game, it has more slow paced gameplay. It`s basically Irisu Syndrome meets Touhou, and it works very well, I'm planning on covering this game.
     
There is Koumajou Densetsu (or Touhouvania, as people call it) it`s Touhou meets Castlevania, it`s also a great game.
     
Lastly there is Danmakufu, you can play custom made scripts there. You can also create one, knowledge of C based program languages will help in it.     


MarKhan | Heroic Unstoppable!
 
more |
XBL:
PSN:
Steam: MarKhan54
ID: MarKhan
IP: Logged

1,960 posts
 
Doki Doki Literature Club

banner

YouTube


Doki Doki Literature Club (or DDLC) is visual novel, released by Don Salvato (and his young team) on September 22, 2017. It`s free to play, it`s on Steam, so you can try it.

Gameplay:

It`s a visual novel, and what you do in visual novels is read text, then click it to read more text. Sometimes visual novels present you a narrative choice and usually they have multiple endings.

DDLC presents choice making through "writing a poem" thing or in other words picking 20 random words, for a character which you like the most. It`s kinda sad that potential of this mechanism wasn`t fully realized in this game, it would be nice to see at least finished poems you came up with, but on the other hand I understand why it was designed like that, it would take more developing time to improve this mechanism and also it would might give personality to protagonist, which is bad if you try to create a blend, generic protagonist for player to fit in.

DDLC also has bunch of secrets. One time game wished me to have a nice weekend, which I found quite nice since it`s first time in a while somebody wished me that.

Story:

I put my thoughts on it in spoiler.

Spoiler
Story in this visual novel is divided into 3 parts.
First part
Setup stage, or in my words: super generic anime school part, with a lot of shadowing in background. This part can be read in 30 min average. I barely read it in one and half hour in the course of 2 days.This part was super generic on a purpose of hiding horror parts behind it and maybe as a form of developer communicating to reader his thoughts on most highschool anime. And thank god shadowing was there, because if not it, I would throw this game away instantly. Second thing which kept me playing is how writer described character`s life problems. Writing in this part is good, does what it is intended for.
Second part
Altered first stage, or horror stage, w/e floats your boat. This part is good. Not gonna lie, it made me feel very uncomfortable and it was spook for me enough to spend another 2 days on it. This part is altered version of the first one and it`s full of uncomfortable elements such as glitched music, glitched imagery etc. My only complaint with it is how straightforward this part tries to set uneasiness, but other than that this part was good.
Third part
This part is meta commentary on VNs, anime, existential crisis, people. Or it is date with a girl, depends on how you approach it. The way it is set up is next: you`ll hear commentary on some subject, then you`ll be given a minute or two to think about it and this alone makes around hour of content.  This is the part where you actually feel like you are communicating with developer. I love this part.

Music:

Music is amateur, and I didn`t find myself listening to it outside the game, except one track. It`s pretty simple to play. But in this case, music corresponds to story perfectly and it`s a good thing.

Music-story related spoiler
And the reason why amateur music is a good thing here is because main antagonist is pretty much amature herself, while she tries to play with game world, she does mistakes and she is pretty self aware of that. So thats nifty I would say.

Conclusion: Overall a good game. Do I recommend to play it? No, but at least I recommend to download it and forget about it, then, at one night, when you can`t fall asleep, find it on your hard drive and play it and see what happens. Also it`s free to play, so why not.


MarKhan | Heroic Unstoppable!
 
more |
XBL:
PSN:
Steam: MarKhan54
ID: MarKhan
IP: Logged

1,960 posts
 
"I'll try to update this thread once a week" - said MarKhan more than 2 week ago.


MarKhan | Heroic Unstoppable!
 
more |
XBL:
PSN:
Steam: MarKhan54
ID: MarKhan
IP: Logged

1,960 posts
 
Irisu Syndrome

Banner

YouTube


Irisu Syndrome is an "instant-death" physics-based puzzle game (as "puzzle" as tetris is), released by Katatema in end of 2008 as a freeware. Let me drop a quick note here: Katatema releases games as freeware, but only in japanese, english patches aren`t free. Irisu Syndrome doesn`t have official english translation, but it has unofficial one, which is free. You can get it by going on developer site -> english version of that site -> there is game and it`s review, you click on review -> go to bottom of that review and there are links to game and to its english patch. Either that, or just PM me, I'll give you links.

Gameplay:
Short how to play guide

    So in this game your goal is to get as high in score as possible. You get points from getting 2 or more blocks of same colors hitting each other and falling down and you use your mouse left and right button to shot small white squares to manipulate blocks.
   There are 4 states in which blocks can be:     
Block states
1. Falling blocks
   Blocks state when it just came into the playfield and haven`t interact with your shots or active blocks. It falls vertically down. They have such interactions:
         -If you shoot it or if active block of different color hits it, it becomes active.
         -If active block of same color hits it, it becomes glowing.
         -If it hits diminished block of different color or bottom white line, it becomes diminished and after few seconds it drains your life.
         -if it hits diminished block of same color, both dissapear, giving you points and life
      2. Active blocks
    Blocks state when flowing block got hit by your shots or another active block of different color. They have such interactions:
         -If any non-diminished block of same color hits it, both blocks becomes glowing.
         -if it hits flowing block of different color, flowing block becomes active
         -If it hits diminished block of different color or bottom white line, it becomes diminished and after few seconds it drains your life.
         -if it hits diminished block of same color, both dissapear, giving you points and life
      3. Glowing blocks
    When blocks of same color interact with each other, they become glowing and they leave small trail behind them. They have such interactions:
         -if it hits diminished block of different color or bottom white line, it dissapears and gives you points and life.
         -if it hits diminished block of same color, both dissapear and give you points and life
         -if it hits any non-diminished block of same color, that block becomes glowing
         -if your shots hit it twice, it gets destroyed and it doesn`t give you points or life
         -more glowing blocks of same color you chain - more points you get
     4. Diminished blocks
    Any block which hits bottom line or diminished block of other color, gets diminished. They usually lying on bottom line unless you send them to air. They have such interactions:
         -if it hits any non-diminished block of same color, both dissapear, giving you points and life
         -if it hits flowing or active block of different color, both get diminished
         -if it hits glowing block, glowing block dissapears, giving you life and points
         -those blocks have "pre-diminished" state after they hit bottom line or diminished block of other color, but before they drain line, any hit with block of same color makes both to dissapear, giving you points and life
Blocks can be in form of triangles or squares and have different colors. Also sometimes glowing dots appear, if they hit active block, all blocks of that color dissapear and you gain a lot of life, no points. Depending on level, you get different speed and higher the level is more colors you get, there is cap to it though. Life drains with time too, but drain with time can`t kill you.

Buttons:
      LMB - weak shot
      RMB - strong shot
      Alt - pause, stops blocks, but if you click somewhere else, blocks resume their movement
      Scroll wheel - speeds up a game when you scroll wheel
      Space - speeds up game even more when you hold space

Main menu:
      Start - start game
      Album - look at photos and notes
      Ranking - look at your scores

Clicking on a title will change music

Gameplay is very good actually. What is great in this developer`s games is that gameplay reflects story, music reflects story, in other words gameplay-story-music-presentation is actually one entity in those games and I love it. Other thing I like is how difficulty is handled in those games. In Irisu Syndrome you can have your good ending pretty easily, but to get all the story behind characters you have to reach all milestones and there are very important bits left.

Story and presentation:
I don`t want to spoil story, it is too good for spoiling. I can only tell you that it is sad. It presented great in game by gameplay, music and art. Gameplay in form of blocks slowly falling down.. like watching life falling into pieces, sounds banal, but in case of gameplay it`s quite good. Now in case of art...
Spoiler
If you pay close attention to the screenshot I left in "How to play section", you'll know what I'm talking about
It bugged me for some time before I payed close attention, and I didn`t notice what made me feel even more sad right away.

Music:
I love it. I love it in game, I love it outside of game. The music in this game is just gem, which I won`t ever forget. My favorite one is "About 10 hours looking at the ceeling". This and "Zero communication" follows story perfectly. "I didn`t talk to anyone again today" also follows the story, but this one also reminds me Tetris-esque tunes.
Spoiler
I also like other tunes as well, but not gonna mention it, as it spoils stuff
 

Secrets:
Oh yeah, this game also has a lot of secrets, which are well handled, from f___s i_ f_l___, which _p__a_ wh____er you-|  and others, like w___i__ in the _i___ ___e__. They contain some story parts. I just forgot to mention.

Overall:
I'm happy that I found this game. Hands down, it is easily my favorite game of all time.
Last Edit: May 09, 2018, 07:31:25 PM by MarKhan


MarKhan | Heroic Unstoppable!
 
more |
XBL:
PSN:
Steam: MarKhan54
ID: MarKhan
IP: Logged

1,960 posts
 
Coffee Crawl

Banner

Trailer
YouTube

    Coffee Crawl is a very interesting indie game, which mixed in itself a lot of other games very successfully. It was released 3 months ago for a PC, it's not free, but it's cheap (there is demo though, you can try it out and see if you like it). It was made with RPGMaker, but it's quite polished and creative game.

Gameplay:
    Coffee Crawl is an interesting survival roguelike RPG mix. In terms of gameplay it offers slash RPG, resource gathering&managing, crafting and diplomacy, which all is fused into single entity. This game also offers anarchy mode, which allows some rules of the game to be broken at the cost that you will be chased by the police and penalized if caught, and you might upset some of 15 other people, who left awake. Game`s difficulty increases with time and usual game flow involves building your character by crafting useful stuff, picking up items called "novelties" that increase your character power in some certain way or reducing game`s difficulty (usually with some drawback) and negotiating with others to oppose this difficulty.
    Coffee Crawl, however, won`t babysit you, it gives you the basics in how to play the game and then leaves you to figure out the rest for yourself. I played for around 60 hours and I still haven't figured and tried out everything. I haven't beat it yet either, I don't think anyone did actually. Game is fresh and there is no tutorials and no gameplay videos, only demonstration trailer with gameplay... It's fun, because there are a lot of hidden gameplay mechanics and minigames and when you discover them on your own, you like "Oh. OOOHHHH!". Since game is difficult and you just found out how to proceed further and survive longer, it's exciting to see how long you can last with newfound knowledge and since right now there is no guides and gameplay videos, you feel proud, because you found out stuff on your own and you read all the in-game clues properly.

Story, music and presentation:
    "A strange phenomenon has swept across the globe. People began to fall asleep no matter where they are. By the third day only a remaining few who are still awake, surpressing their urge to sleep with, well... coffee. The rest shows no sign of waking up."
    Coffee Crawl doesn`t really have a complex story baseline, however characters, music and presentation makes you to be really interested in it and makes you want to discover mystery behind people not waking up. There are 15 other characters besides you that are trying to not fall asleep and all of them are distinct, they all have their own character developement and you can be friends or enemy with each of them, they also have their own locations where you can meet them anytime and which adds to their story. Music in this game is also very good, it fits in game very well and adds to atmosphere of the location you are at, and I would listen it outside of the game, but thats just my taste. While having a mysterious plot and atmosphere, Coffee Crawl has good sense of humor and it doesn`t interfere with atmosphere. There is also bunch of references to other games, and I find myself sometimes asking a question "Where I heard that phrase before?".

Performance and execution:
    As about performance, game performs well on my low end lagtop, which just fits right into minimum system requirements for this game, I also played it on PC which has powerful videocard but only 2 GB (and minimum required is 4 GB) of memory and it still ran well, with some occasional freezes. For 60 hours I played game, I encountered bug once, and it`s kind of a bug which hard to get, so don`t let that you down. (I also submited this bug and developer responded me today and said that he is gonna fix it). Overall game is very solid, and RPGMaker used very creatively with all the stuff present in game.
    My only complaint is that there is no "Exit" button and some people complain on lack of controller support, but thats only complaints which I could came up with and game is not set in stone.

Extra notes:
    "Coffee Crawl is inspired by Dungeon Crawl Stone Soup, Elona+, Risk of Rain, The Binding of Isaac, Civilisation 5, and Zettai Hero Project. Some elements in those games may present." As someone who played Risk of Rain, Civilisation 5 and Elona+ I can confirm that it`s true, this game reminds me those games, yet I'm surprised that Coffee Crawl combined elements of those games so well and that after playing forementionen games Coffee Crawl has still a lot to offer to me.

Overall:
I don't know if this game is your cup of tea, game is quite unique, but I enjoyed it a lot, so you might as well. My verdict is:
Spoiler
send help
Last Edit: July 09, 2018, 05:11:48 PM by MarKhan